Wombwell Selected as First-Teamer for Lady Falcons; Salihovic and Vernon Picked as Third-Teamers on All-Conference Team

Wombwell Selected as First-Teamer for Lady Falcons; Salihovic and Vernon Picked as Third-Teamers on All-Conference Team

HIGH POINT, NC - Conference Carolinas announces the All-Conference teams during this week's Conference Carolinas Men's & Women's Soccer Championship Tournament. Awards include All-Conference First, Second, & Third teams, Player of the Year, Coach of the Year, Freshman of the Year, and Divisional Regular Season Champions. Pfeiffer University's Alyssa Wombwell was another first-team selection for the Lady Falcons while Fahret Salihovic and Luke Vernon captured third-team honors for the men. Head coaches from conference member institutions nominate and then vote on the award winners who represent the best of the best for the league.

The conference championships started Monday with the top eight teams qualifying for quarterfinal action. Semifinal play resumes Thursday (women) and Friday (men) with the championship finals on Saturday (women) and Sunday (men). All games are played at the highest remaining seed with the tournament Champion receiving an automatic berth to the NCAA DII championships.

Women's Soccer Player of the Year
Ashley Alderin-Fleagle, Limestone

Ashley Alderin-Fleagle had a breakout season during her final year with the Saints, posting a conference-leading 19 goals to go with six assists while also leading NCAA Division II in total goals scored. Alderin-Fleagle paced Limestone to a program-best 12 wins this year, scoring 15 goals over the final 11 matches of the regular season to lead the team to a 9-2 record during the same span.

Women's Soccer Freshman of the Year
Meagan Thornton, Lees-McRae

Meagan Thornton burst onto the conference and national scene this season, leading all Conference Carolinas freshmen with 12 goals, six assists, and 30 points. A native of Millville, N.J., Thornton has also tallied a pair of match-winners this season, while scoring two or more goals on a trio of occasions.

Women's Soccer Coach of the Year
Cally Morrill, Lees-McRae

Cally Morrill has taken the Bobcats to new heights this fall, leading Lees-McRae to its first Conference Carolinas regular season championship since 2000. The Bobcats posted an 11-1 record against league opponents in Morrill's second year at the helm, earning the program's first-ever top seed in the conference tournament.

Women's All-Conference 1st-Team
Ashley Alderin-Fleagle, Limestone -Forward
Morgan Shelton, King -Forward
Marybeth Sullivan, Lees-McRae -Forward
Lauren Vawter, Queens -Midfielder
Nicole Voets, Belmont Abbey -Midfielder
Brooke Santerre, Lees-McRae -Midfielder
Alyssa Wombwell, Pfeiffer -Midfielder
Mary Dorn, Lees-McRae -Defender
Carly Kensinger, Belmont Abbey -Defender
Lauren Lanham, Limestone -Defender
Lyndsey McIntyre, Mount Olive -Goalkeeper

Women's All-Conference 2nd-Team
Lindsey Stanley, Mount Olive -Forward
Meagan Thornton, Lees-McRae -Forward
Ananda Gebreyesus, Belmont Abbey -Forward
Vickie Rich, Lees-McRae -Forward
Vanessa Jarrett, Limestone -Midfielder
Silvia Vazquez, Belmont Abbey -Midfielder
Casey Craft, Erskine -Midfielder
Hilary Parkin, Converse -Defender
Alana Ryczek, Belmont Abbey -Defender
Holli Schwartz, Limestone -Defender
Kaitlyn Briggs, Lees-McRae -Goalkeeper

Women's All-Conference 3rd-Team
Gabriella Reid, Limestone -Forward
Kristen Wright, Queens -Forward
Rebecca Mateo, Belmont Abbey -Forward
Emily Jones, Lees-McRae -Midfielder
Becky Sanzsole, Mount Olive -Midfielder
Heidi Steger, King -Midfielder
Patrice Clarke, Mount Olive -Defender
Kariel Parian, Queens -Defender
Sarah Rountree, Coker -Defender
Mary Knepp, Mount Olive -Defender
Abbey Kitts, King -Goalkeeper

Women's Soccer Eastern Division Regular Season Champions
Mount Olive College

Women's Soccer Western Division Regular Season Champions
Lees-McRae College

Men's Soccer Player of the Year
Carlos Recinos, Coker

Carlos Recinos has been one of the key components to Coker's successful season. Behind his team leading 13 goals, including nine game-winners, and nine assists, the Cobras are ranked No. 5 nationally and have captured their first ever Conference Carolinas Regular Season Championship.

Men's Soccer Freshman of the Year
Jorge Mackenna, Limestone

Jorge Mackeena put together a stellar freshman campaign after tallying nine goals and four assists for 22 points, playing a major role in Limestone finishing the regular season as the top-ranked offense in NCAA Division II. Mackeena served as the catalyst for the Saints this season, leading the team to a 7-0 record whenever he posted a goal.

Men's Soccer Coach of the Year
Paul Leese, Coker

In just his third year leading the Coker men, Head Coach Paul Leese has turned the Cobras into a national power. Ranked No. 5 nationally, Leese led the Cobras to their first ever Conference Carolinas Regular Season Championship this season.

Men's All-Conference 1st-Team
Carlos Recinos, Coker -Forward
Erik Pajunk, Barton -Forward
Tom Winspear, King -Forward
James Galvani, Lees-McRae -Forward
Jack Kimber, Erskine -Midfielder
Larry Mahon, Limestone -Midfielder
Rommel Fondin, Coker -Midfielder
Luke Duffy, Lees-McRae -Defender
Fernando Bedoya, Coker -Defender
Atticus Lum, Coker -Defender
James Sweeney, Coker -Goalkeeper

Men's All-Conference 2nd-Team
Andrew Settlemire, Erskine -Forward
Jorge Mackenna, Limestone -Forward
Jack Bailey, Limestone -Forward
Jeremy Chambers, Queens -Midfielder
James Smith, Lees-McRae -Midfielder
Stephen Scrivens, Coker -Midfielder
Dante De Luca, Barton -Midfielder
Luke Staats, Lees-McRae -Defender
Jonathan Rutter, Erskine -Defender
James Burke, Limestone -Defender
Brian Riesenberg, Barton -Goalkeeper

Men's All-Conference 3rd-Team
Felipe Netto, Queens -Forward
Vieux Sarr, Mount Olive -Forward
Danilo Matos, Barton -Forward
Tom McCready, Limestone -Midfielder
Bryce Ziada, Limestone -Midfielder
Fahret Salihovic, Pfeiffer -Midfielder
Jose Penaloza, Belmont Abbey -Defender
Luke Vernon, Pfeiffer -Defender
Mark Leslie, Limestone -Defender
Matthew Gwilt, Queens -Defender
Thomas Rusling, Lees-McRae -Goalkeeper

Men's Soccer Eastern Division Regular Season Champions
Coker College

Western Division Regular Season Champions
Lees-McRae College